Revlon ColorStay Liquid Lipstick in “Top Tomato”: Review

I’ve been searching for the perfect red lipstick since I started using makeup. Not only does it need to be the perfect shade for my skin tone; it also needs to last all day, keep my lips from drying out and isn’t too expensive. 

20179706_10212275841122964_1582608480_n_Fotor

I recently purchased Revlon’s ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick and I must say, I was very impressed. I decided to go for bold and try out lipstick in Top Tomato, since I’ve been specifically looking for the perfect red lipstick. It’s the brightest shade they have, which also means all my mistakes or issues with the lipstick would be very noticeable. Coincidentally, the night I tested out this lipstick was date night for Ryan (my boyfriend) and I. I put this lipstick through the ringer! Eating a full meal plus dessert, drinking, kissing more than once or twice, and so on.

Application

The first thing I noticed about it was how easily it was applied. Smooth and creamy, it was very easy. It wasn’t too watery or uneven, giving it a very nice consistency overall. It also didn’t take too long to dry, but it took long enough that I could get even coverage on my lips. I recommend using a lip liner, as I would with all lipsticks. It’s not a necessary step but it does definitely add to the look.

The brush itself was easy to use, it’s not a curved brush which means that there was no product pooling anywhere (A.K.A very easy application!).

The Wear

The lipstick dried to a beautiful matte finish, and wasn’t too sticky as the night went on either. With other liquid lipsticks I usually notice that my lips tend to dry out, yet with the ColorStay I didn’t notice any drying happening during the evening. I managed to get through a night drinking cider (testing with and without the straw), a salad, pesto panini, and a berry cheesecake without any smudging or fading. And lets not forget about the numerous kisses from Ryan.

Overall I wore the lipstick for about 6-7 hours.

I loved this shade so much! I can’t wait to try more shades and products by Revlon!

Make sure to exfoliate and moisturize your lips before applying the lipstick for optimum results!

Leave a Reply

